Custodial Party FAQs

Why do my payments have to go through the SDU?
Both state and federal law require all child support payments be sent to a single location within each state. In California, the State Disbursement Unit is responsible for the collection and disbursement of all child support payments.
What are the options to receive my child support payments?

Parties receiving support have three (3) methods to receive their child support payments.  These methods include:

  • Direct Deposit – Your payment is automatically deposited into your checking or savings account
  • Electronic Payment Card (EPC) – Similar to an ATM or debit card.  When a payment is received and processed, it is then applied to the EPC
  • Bank check sent to your current mailing address
How can I sign up for Direct Deposit?

You can sign up for Direct Deposit:

  • Electronically at www.casdu.com - select the “Custodial Parties” button, then select “Enroll Now”·  You will need your Participant ID and Social Security Number.
  • by calling 1-866-901-3212, then selecting option 1, option 3 and then option 2.
  • by downloading and printing a paper application,
  • by picking up a paper application at your LCSA

Paper applications should be mailed to:

   CA State Disbursement Unit (SDU)
   PO Box 989064
   West Sacramento, CA 95798-9064.

What is an Electronic Payment Card (EPC)?
An EPC is a MasterCard branded debit card issued by Wells Fargo Bank that can be used anywhere MasterCard is accepted. You will have access to your payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
What are the benefits of receiving my child support by EPC?

The benefits of receiving child support payments by EPC include:

  • Save time – receiving child support payments by EPC is faster than waiting for a check
  • Convenience – use the EPC for purchases everywhere MasterCard is accepted, point of sale terminals, and to make withdrawals at virtually any ATM 24 hours a day
  • Security – you no longer have to worry about a check being stolen or lost in the mail
  • Cost – eliminate check cashing cost. Some businesses charge as much as 15% of the face value of the check
  • Assistance – account information and customer service through EPPIC Customer Service Center (1-877-777-1617) are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
What if I receive child support payments from multiple cases?
Once you have successfully enrolled in the EPC program, all child support payments received from multiple California child support cases will be electronically deposited into your single EPC account.  There is no need to enroll in the EPC program more than once.
How do I sign up for the EPC?

You can sign up for EPC:

  • Electronically at www.casdu.com – select the “Custodial Parties” button, then select “Enroll Now”.  You will need your Participant ID, Social Security Number and date of birth. 
  • by calling 1-866-901-3212, then selecting option 1, option 3 and then option 2.
  • by downloading and printing a paper application,
  • by picking up a paper application at your LCSA

Paper applications should be mailed to:

CA State Disbursement Unit (SDU)
PO Box 989064
West Sacramento, CA 95798-9064

How long will it take to receive my EPC?
Once you enroll in the EPC program, it will take approximately 10-14 business days to receive your card in the mail. As soon as you receive it, call the number on the card to activate it and create a personal identification number (PIN). Disbursements cannot be applied to the card until it is activated. It is recommended you carefully read all information included with your card.
How soon can I use my EPC?
After you have activated your card, the next child support disbursement you receive will be applied to the EPC.
Are there any fees with the EPC?

There are no monthly fees for managing your funds; but fees may apply to some services. Be sure to read the information in the program materials sent to you with your card or at www.eppicard.com to understand the details of your card.

ATM owners may impose an additional “convenience fee” or a “surcharge fee” for certain ATM transactions. A sign should be posted at the ATM to indicate additional fees.

Is there a daily maximum I can take from my EPC account?
No – you have full access to your available balance at any time. Unlike a traditional bank account, your EPC account has no daily purchase or withdrawal limits.
How can I check the balance in my EPC account?

You have the following options to check your balance.

  • You may check your account balance for free, online by visiting www.eppicard.com
  • You may also check your account balance by calling the EPPIC Customer Service Center at 1-877-777-1617, 24 hours and day, 7 days a week .  Your first three (3) calls to customer service are free, but you will be charged a fee of $0.50 for each call after that.
  • You may check your balance at an ATM, but you will be charged a fee of $0.60 each time.  If you use an ATM that is not a Wells Fargo Bank ATM, you may be charged additional fees by that bank.
  • You can sign up for low balance alert by calling the EPPIC Customer Service Center at 1-877-777-1617. This allows notifications to be sent to you by email, phone, or text message. Standard text message fees will apply.
Who do I contact if I have questions about my EPC?

You may go to www.eppicard.com and select the icon that looks like your card. Once you have entered California’s EPPICard page, click on the ‘Program Materials’ menu option.

You may contact the EPPIC Customer Service Center at 1-877-777-1617, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Where can I get my disbursement history?
You can use the Customer Connect website www.childsup-connect.ca.gov or call 1-866-901-3212 to hear details about all of your child support disbursements.
What do I need to use the Customer Connect website?

To use the website, www.childsup-connect.ca.gov, you will need your 13 or 15 digit participant ID number or your Social Security number and your Customer Connect PIN. If you do not have a PIN, you will need to:

  • Select “Log In”
  • Select “I need a PIN”
  • Enter your first and last name and Social Security number or Participant ID number
  • elect how you want to receive your temporary PIN (email or standard mail)

Note: You must have a valid mailing/email address on file with the Department of Child Support Services (DCSS) for the delivery method you select. For more information about Customer Connect, read PUB 255: Welcome to Customer Connect.

What do I need to use the Customer Connect automated phone system (Interactive Voice Response (IVR))?

To use the IVR, you will need your 13 or 15 digit participant ID number or your Social Security number and your Customer Connect PIN. If you do not have a PIN, you can request one by calling 1-866-901-3212.

  • Select your language – “1” for English, “9” for Spanish
  • When asked if you are a parent or guardian, say “Yes” or press “1”
  • Enter your Social Security number or Participant ID number
  • When asked for your PIN, say “I don’t know it”
  • When asked if you want to reset your PIN, say “Yes”
  • When asked where you would like your PIN sent, say “email” or “mailing address”
  • When asked, enter your Participant ID number

Note: Both a Social Security number and Participant ID number and a valid mailing/email address must be on file with DCSS for the delivery method you select. For assistance, say “Agent” at any time during the call. For more information about Customer Connect, read PUB 255: Welcome to Customer Connect.

I have not received my child support payment. Who can I contact to find out what is going on?
Call 1-866-901-3212 for any questions that you may have regarding child support payments.
I received a child support payment, but it wasn’t the full amount. Why?

There are several reasons you may not receive your full amount of child support:

  • There may have been a change in the income of the parent paying support, due to changes in their work hours, unemployment, or a disability
  • You may have been assessed the $25 Annual Service Fee.
  • The parent paying support has more than one child support case and there was a change in distribution. CSS06-24.
What happens when the parent ordered to pay support has money to pay child support but still won’t pay?
Individuals can assist the LCSA by providing any information they have about the parent’s whereabouts, income, place of employment and assets such as homes, cars, etc. The court may find a parent in contempt of court if that parent has the ability to pay but is willfully not paying the child support. This enforcement tool is used only when all others have failed.
What should I do if the parent paying support moves away?
Tell the LCSA when you or the parent paying support moves – no matter where. Child support can be enforced anywhere in the United States. For the party receiving support, the LCSA can transfer your child support case to the county or state where you move.
How do I collect child support from the parent paying support if he/she lives out of state?

Even when parents or guardians live in different states, a child support case can be opened at your LCSA. The LCSA can work with the other state to establish or enforce the support order.

For more information read: PUB 251: When Parents Live in Different States.

I have a California support order and the other parent now lives in another state. I asked the other state to help me collect support, but the judge lowered the child support amount. Is that legal?
No. Laws known as the Full Faith and Credit for Child Support Orders Act and the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA) prevent a state from changing another state’s court order. If the child lives here and an order is issued in California, only a California court can change it.
I am receiving CalWORKs or KinGAP, does this affect my child support?
Yes, your child support will be affected, contact your LCSA for more information.
If the LCSA cannot find the parent ordered to pay support, can I still get CalWORKS, KinGAP, or Medi-Cal benefits?
Yes. If you are eligible and cooperate with the LCSA, you can receive CalWORKS, KinGAP, or Medi-Cal benefits while the LCSA tries to find the parent.
How can I make an overpayment repayment?
Call 1-866-901-3212, select Option 1, then Option 5 and follow the prompts. You will need your SSN and Participant ID Number.
Can I make a credit/debit card payment where the card-issuing bank is outside the United States?
Yes, you may use a credit/debit card where the card-issuing bank is outside the United States. Review your cardholder agreement to determine fees that you may incur from your bank.

Additional Questions

I still have questions.  What do I do?

Consult additional webpages:

You may also email a caseworker from within Customer Connect.