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DECLARATION OF PATERNITY RESCISSION - INSTRUCTIONS 
CS 915 English (01/15) 

Who  can use this form? 

Either person who signed the Declaration of Paternity can use this form to cancel it within 60 days of signing the 
Declaration of Paternity, unless a court order for custody, visitation, or child support has been entered.  This 
means either the man or the child’s mother who signed the Declaration of Paternity has the opportunity to cancel 
the Declaration of Paternity.  Only one person’s signature is needed, but the other parent must be formally notified 
by certified, returned receipt mail, by the parent requesting that the Declaration of Paternity be rescinded. 

Why use the Declaration of Paternity Rescission form? 

This form CANCELS the legal father and child relationship created by the Declaration of Paternity form 
previously signed.   

You must follow all directions carefully to cancel your Declaration of Paternity.    

When do I need to complete the Declaration of Paternity Rescission form? 

The Declaration of Paternity Rescission must be correctly completed, with all necessary documents attached and 
mailed to the California Department of Child Support Services within 60 days of the date the Declaration of 
Paternity was signed. 

How do I complete the Declaration of Paternity Rescission form? 
PLEASE FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS BELOW TO CORRECTLY COMPLETE THE DECLARATION OF 
PATERNITY RESCISSION FORM: 

1. Complete the Declaration of Paternity Rescission form in blue or black ink, printed clearly and neatly.  The form may 
also be typed.  Provide all the information required on the form, be sure to include the information requested regarding 
the other person who signed the paternity declaration.   

2. You must notify the other person who signed the paternity declaration that you are requesting the paternity 
declaration be rescinded.  You must do this by sending a copy of the completed rescission form, by certified, returned 
receipt mail to the other person who signed the Declaration of Paternity.  Once you receive the signed, 
returned receipt from the other person, make a copy of the signed returned receipt to send to the 
Department of Child Support Services with your Declaration of Paternity Rescission form. 

3. Please remember the rescission form must be witnessed by a Notary Public.  You are declaring, under 
penalty of perjury, that you wish to rescind the Declaration of Paternity and you sent a copy of the 
Declaration of Paternity Rescission form to the other person notifying him/her of your request to rescind the 
declaration.  

Where do I send the completed Declaration of Paternity Rescission form? 
Once you have completed the form, the form has been witnessed by a notary and you have received the proof of 
mailing to the other person (the returned receipt), please mail all the required documentation to: 

California Department of Child Support Services 
Paternity Opportunity Program 
P. O. Box 419070 
Rancho Cordova, CA  95741-9070 
 

Please remember the documents must be received by the DCSS, postmarked no later 
than 60 days after the date the original Declaration of Paternity was signed.  

PRIVACY NOTICE – The Information Practices Act of 1977 (Civil Code §1798.17) and the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (Title 5, 
United States Code §552a(e)(3), §7 Note) require that this notice be provided when collecting personal information and social 
security numbers from individuals.  Information requested on this form is used by the Department of Child Support Services 
(DCSS) and local child support agencies for the purposes of identification and establishing paternity.  The personal information 
may be shared with child support agencies, welfare agencies, courts and entities providing services to such agencies.  Failure 
to provide the mandatory information may result in the rejection of filing the declaration with DCSS. 
 
The agency official responsible for maintenance of the forms is: State Coordinator at the Paternity Opportunity Program of 
DCSS, Tel: (866-249-0773).  Legal references authorizing solicitation and maintenance of this personal information include Title 
42 United States Code §666(a)(13), Family Code §7570-7577, and §17212. Copies of the Declaration of Paternity are 
maintained in confidential files of the Department of Child Support Services.  Declarants have the right of access to their filed 
declaration form(s) upon request by calling (866-249-0773). 
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Please refer to the instructions on the back of this page.  Use blue or black ink.  Type or print clearly.  Either person who signed the Declaration of 

Paternity may use this form to rescind their filed Declaration of Paternity.  Completing and filing this form cancels the legal father and child relationship 

created by the Declaration of Paternity that was filed with the Department of Child Support Services (DCSS).  Please note that rescinding a Declaration of 

Paternity will not automatically remove a man’s name from the birth certificate.  This action requires a court order and an amendment request to the 

State Office of Vital Records. 

THIS IS A LEGAL DOCUMENT.   PLEASE READ AND COMPLETE CAREFULLY 

DO NOT SIGN THIS FORM IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT IT MEANS. 

TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PARENT SIGNING RESCISSION (FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST) 
 
I,            declare as follows: 

1. I signed the Declaration of Paternity form for the child listed below and have stated the date and the 
county and state where it was signed:      

 

FIRST NAME OF CHILD     MIDDLE LAST 

CHILD’S DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) COUNTY AND STATE WHERE SIGNED DATE SIGNED (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) 

2. The name and address of the other person who signed the Declaration of Paternity: 
FIRST NAME OF OTHER PERSON    

 

MIDDLE LAST 

STREET ADDRESS (APARTMENT NUMBER, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE)

3. My Social Security Number and date of birth is: 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SEE PRIVACY STATEMENT ON BACK)

□ BY CHECKING THIS BOX, I CERTIFY I DO NOT 
HAVE A SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  

DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH/DAY/YEAR)

4.  I declare, under penalty of perjury, that a copy of this rescission was mailed to the other person who signed the 
Declaration of Paternity and I have requested the original return receipt. 

5.  I am including a copy of the original signed return receipt as proof of mailing to the other person who signed the 
Declaration of Paternity. 

6. I want to cancel the legal father and child relationship created by the Declaration of Paternity.  I understand that 
signing this form will cancel the Declaration of Paternity, provided that it is postmarked and mailed to DCSS within 
60 days of the date the Declaration of Paternity was signed by the last person to sign it. 

I declare, under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is true and correct. 
DATE EXECUTED  (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) YOUR SIGNATURE

STREET ADDRESS                                        APARTMENT NUMBER                                        CITY                                                     STATE                                          ZIP CODE

YOUR PHONE NUMBER 

 
 

State of      County of          

On      before me, ,            

(here insert name and title of officer) 
personally appeared           

                                          

             
who proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the person(s) whose name(s) is/are subscribed 
to the within instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed the same in his/her/their 
authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signatures(s) on the instrument the person(s), or the entity 
upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, executed the instrument. I cert i fy under PENALTY OF PERJURY 
under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct.  A notary public or 
other off icer completing this cert i f icate verif ies only the identity of the individual who signed the document to 
which this cert if icate is attached, and not the truthfulness, accuracy, or validity of that document. 
 

WITNESS my hand and official seal.   

Signature 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(SEAL) 
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