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Employer Value to our Program
Welcome California Department of Child Support Services

Why you are important  
 

As employers, you are one of our most important partners. You 
play a valuable role in helping ensure families get the financial and 
medical support they need. More than 70 percent of all child support 
collections are through payroll deductions. That is more than $1.5 
billion dollars each year.

The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) oversees 
the national child support program and provides leadership to state 
agencies, including the California Department of Child Support 
Services (DCSS). OCSE helps develop, manage, and operate our 
programs effectively. California has 51 local child support agencies 
that provide direct services to our families and partners. 

We recognize the challenges employers have in support of the 
child support enforcement effort. Federal and state laws mandate 
the DCSS to serve the Income Withholding Order (IWO) and the 
National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) to the employer on behalf 
of the responsible party required to pay child support. We are 
committed to working with employers to help reduce these concerns 
while still meeting legal requirements.

Visit our Employer Resource Center for more information about 
employers’ responsibilities. If you have questions or need 
assistance you can contact us at any time as we are here to better 
serve you.

In federal fiscal 
year 2014/2015 
employers 
accounted 
for more than 
70 percent of 
child support 
collection. 

That is more than 
$1.5 billion dollars 
each year.

Thank you for all 
your committment 
and dedication.
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For additional information:
Visit the Employer Resource Center at 
www.childsup.ca.gov/employer.aspx



New Hire Reporting
Fact Sheet California Department of Child Support Services

New Hire Reporting
 

New hire reporting is the process by which you, as an employer, 
report information on your newly hired employees to the California 
Employment Development Department (EDD). New hire reports 
are matched against child support records at the state and national 
levels to locate parents who are not paying owed child support. 

All California employers must report all of their new or rehired 
employees who work in California to the New Employee Registry 
within twenty (20) days of their start-of-work date. Any employee 
that is rehired after a separation of at least sixty (60) consecutive 
days must also be reported within 20 days.

Employers may use any of the following to report new  
employee information to EDD:
	 • Submit a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) electronically 	 	
		  using EDD’s e-Services for Business.

	 • Submit a paper Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) to EDD.  
	 	 A fill-in DE 34 can be downloaded if you have Adobe Reader.  
		  Forms may also be ordered through EDD’s Online Forms and 		
		  Publications page, by calling EDD’s toll-free number  
	 	 1.888.745.3886, or visiting your nearest Employment Tax Office.  
		  You may also print your data directly from your computer to the  
	 	 DE 34 by following the print specifications.

	 • Submit a copy of the employee’s W-4 form. You must add the 	 	
		  employee’s start-of-work date, your California employer account 		
	 	 number and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 
 	 	 to the W-4. 

	 • You may create your own form with all of the required  
		  information and mail or fax to:
 		  Employment Development Department
 		  Document Management Group, MIC 96
 		  P.O. Box 997016
 	 	 West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016

	 	 Fax: 916.319.4400

Ca
lif

or

nia  Department  of       C
hild Suppor

 t Servic
es

   For additional information:
Visit the Employment Development Department website at 
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/New_Hire_Reporting.htm

New Hire Checklist 
 

• The following information must 	 	
	 be reported: 

	 » Employer’s legal  
		  business name 
	 »	Contact person name
	 »	Address
	 »	Phone number
	 »	California employer  
		  account number
	 »	Federal Employer  
	 	 Identification Number (FEIN)

	 » Employee’s full name
	 »	Social Security Number
	 »	Address
	 »	Start-of-work date

• Report your new hires 	 	
	 electronically by visiting: 
	 https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/



Income Withholding Order (IWO)
Fact Sheet California Department of Child Support Services

Employer Checklist 
for processing income 
withholding orders 
• Within 10 days of receipt of an IWO from a local child support 	
	 agency (LCSA), confirm that the employee named in the Income  
	 Withholding Order (IWO) is your employee and provide him/	  
	 her with a copy of the Income Withholding Order, the Request  
	 for Hearing Regarding Wage and Earnings Assignment, and  
	 Information Sheet. 

• The employer must begin withholding the amount specified in  
	 the order no later than the first pay period occurring 10 days after  
	 receipt of the IWO.
 

• If no federal tax levy is already in place against your employee’s  
	 earnings, then calculate the child support deduction and withhold  
	 the maximum allowable disposable income needed to satisfy 
	 the child support obligation, and your administrative fee, if any. If	  	
	 a federal tax levy is in place, please contact the local child support  
	 agency by calling the statewide toll free number 866.901.3212 to  
	 determine if the child support order was entered prior to the date  
	 of the tax levy and therefore has priority over the tax levy. 

•  Payment options:
	 » Online - Log in at www.casdu.com - Use your debit/credit card  
		  or bank account information.
	 » Phone - Call 1.866.901.3212 - Use your debit/credit card or  
		  bank account information. 
	 » Check - mail your payment to:
		  State Disbursement Unit
		  P.O. Box 989067
		  West Sacramento, CA 95798

• If the employee no longer receives payments from you, is 	  
	 terminated, on disability leave, or there is any cause to stop the
	 withholding of payments, notify the LCSA that is managing the  
	 case. 

The Income Withholding Order 
(IWO) is a court order served on 
employers that requires them to 
withhold a specified amount of an 
employee’s wages for payment 
of child and medical support. The 
IWO or court order is served on 
employers on form FL 195. It may 
also be referred to as a wage 
assignment, garnishment order, or 
an income withholding for support 
order. Employers may be served 
with an IWO by a local child 
support agency (LCSA), by private 
party, or by another state’s child 
support agency.

Income withholding is the most 
effective method of child support 
collection. In California, wage 
withholding accounts for more 
than 70 percent of child support 
collected.
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For additional information:
Visit the Employer Handbook - Guide to California child support for employers at: 
http://www.childsup.ca.gov/Portals/0/employer/docs/EmployerHndbk.pdf   
or call 866.901.3213 Option 1.



National Medical Support Notice (NMSN)
Fact Sheet California Department of Child Support Services

Employer Checklist for Child 
Support Health Insurance.
• When an employee is ordered to pay health insurance as part of  
	 court ordered child support, the employer is sent a document 	 
	 called the National Medical Support Notice (NMSN). It will have the  
	 employee’s name, child support case number and other information.		
	 It also has a section for the employer to complete. 

• Within 20 business days of the date on the NMSN, the employer  
	 should check number 1 of the NMSN Employer Response (Part  
	 A) and return it by mail to the issuing party shown on the NMSN.  
	 If health insurance is not available to the employee, the employer  
	 is still required to respond to the issuing party by returning the  
	 Employer Response regardless of whether you provide group 		
	 health benefits or the employee named herein is no longer  
	 employed by your organization.

• If your company does offer health insurance to employees, then  
	 you have 10 days from the date you receive an NMSN to confirm 		
	 that the employee named in the NMSN is your employee and  
	 provide him/her with a copy of the notice and the information on  
	 the employee’s right to request a hearing regarding the health  
	 insurance assignment.

• Within 20 business days of receipt of the NMSN, forward 			 
	 instructions to enroll to the designated health insurance company  
	 or other health plan insurer.

• Once enrollment is verified with the effective date, complete the  
	 NMSN’s Health Insurance Information Form and return it to the  
	 issuing local child support county office.

• Within 40 business days of the receipt of the NMSN, or sooner if  
	 reasonable, furnish the local county office with a description of the  
	 coverage available and the effective date of the coverage, including,  
	 if not already provided, a summary plan description and any forms,  
	 documents, or information necessary to effectuate such coverage, 		
	 as well as information necessary to submit claims for benefits.

• If health insurance coverage terminates for any reason, a notice  
	 of lapse of health insurance coverage should be 
	 forwarded to the issuing party.

By law, every order for child 
support must include a health 
insurance provision. If an 
employee or independent 
contractor is a noncustodial 
parent and eligible for health 
insurance, his/her children must 
be enrolled in the employer’s 
health insurance plan whenever 
the noncustodial parent is 
ordered to provide health 
insurance coverage.  Health 
insurance must be provided to 
the employee’s children even if 
the employee declines his/her 
own personal health coverage. 

Medical support orders may 
be for a specific dollar amount 
included on the IWO or as an 
order to provide health insurance 
that employers are noticed via 
a document titled: The National 
Medical Support Notice (NMSN) 
(form OMB 0970-0222). The 
NMSN is a standardized federal 
form that all state IV-D child 
support programs must use. The 
NMSN may accompany an IWO 
or it may be sent separately.
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For additional information:
Visit the California Child Support- A Guide for Business Handbook.
Any eligibility questions can be answered through NMSN guidelines:   
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/national-medical-support-notice-form
Or contact the issuing local child support agency at 1.866.901.3212.



Electronic Options for Child Support
Fact Sheet California Department of Child Support Services

Electronic Options
Our program is always looking to add more efficient and effective 
ways to do business. Below are three electronic options that we 
currently offer to employers:

Electronic IWO (e-IWO)
 

 • A faster and easier way for employers to receive and reply to  
	 Income Withholding Orders is available. By utilizing the federal 		
	 Electronic Income Withholding Order process (e-IWO),  
	 employers will save time and money while reducing the  
	 potential for error usually associated with manually processing 		
	 paper documents. There are two options for implementing the 		
	 e-IWO process: 
		  » The System-to-System Option
		  » No Programming Option (NPO)

Electronic Payments
 • The California State Disbursement Unit (CASDU) is the single 		
	 payment processing center for employers to send all California 		
	 wage withholding child support payments. To simplify the payment 	
	 submission process, the CASDU provides all employers the  
	 option to submit payments electronically via an Electronic Funds  
	 Transfer (EFT) through the payments network known as the 		
	 Automated Clearing House (ACH). Our EFT method is more cost 		
	 effective, provides more security to its users and eliminates the  
	 risks associated with traditional check proecessing. 

eTerm
 • Electronic Termination (eTerm) allows employers to report 			
	 employee terminations online. Registered employers provide 		
	 information about employee terminations (or that an individual 		
	 has never worked for them) either by uploading a file or entering 		
	 information in the online eTerm application.

For additional information  
on e-IWO:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/
cse/newhire/employer/eiwo/eiwo.
htm.
 

For additional information 
on electronic payments:
https://www.childsup.ca.gov/
payments/edisbursementunit(sdu).
aspx

For additional information  
on eTerm:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/
css/resource/electronic-
termination-eterm
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For additional information:
Visit the Employer Resource Center at
http://www.childsup.ca.gov/employer.aspx


