STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES
P.O. Box 419064, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9064

July 27, 2011 Reason for this Transmittal

[ ] State Law or Regulation Change
[ ] Federal Law or Regulation

Change
. [ ] Court Order or Settlement
CSS LETTER: 11-11 Change
[ ] Clarification requested by
ALL IV-D DIRECTORS One or More Counties
ALL COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICERS [ ] Initiated by DCSS
ALL BOARDS OF SUPERVISORS
SUBJECT: IMPLEMENTATION OF THE FEDERAL DEFICIT REDUCTION ACT

ANNUAL SERVICE FEE

REFERENCE: FEDERAL DEFICIT REDUCTION ACT MANDATORY FEE FOR NEVER
ASSISTED CASES, SECTION 454(6)(B)(Il) OF THE ACT,
ACTION TRANSMITTAL 06-01: CHILD SUPPORT PROVISION 7310,
FAMILY CODE §17208

The purpose of this letter is to provide information to local child support agencies
(LCSAS) regarding implementation of the Federal Deficit Reduction Act (FDRA) Annual
Service Fee, Public Law 109-171. The FDRA instructs states to impose a $25 Annual
Service Fee to non-welfare families (never-assisted cases) who receive disbursements of
$500 or more during the federal fiscal year (FFY). The mandate went into effect

January 1, 2008. However, in fiscal years 2007-08 through 2009-10 California paid the
full assessment amount to the federal government. As of October 1, 2010, the state will
no longer pay the service fee on behalf of families.

Annual Service Fee Notification and Assessment

One Time Notice: Beginning in May 2011, the Department of Child Support Services
(DCSS) sent a courtesy notice to all custodial parties (CPs) with never-assisted cases
notifying them of the Annual Service Fee. The Notice of New Federally Mandated Annual
Service Fee (DCSS-0677) contains information about the service fee and explains
specific criteria for requesting an exemption. An attached form is included for the CP to
self-certify a request for exemption. The Certification of Annual Service Fee Exemption
(DCSS-0678) form must be signed and received in DCSS by August 31, 2011 to be
processed prior to the service fee assessment on October 1, 2011.

Annual Assessment Notice: Beginning October 1, 2011, and every October 1 thereafter,
the Child Support Enforcement (CSE) system will assess the $25 Annual Service Fee to
all never-assisted cases that meet the criteria for assessment. The service fee will be
withheld from the CP’s next child support payment(s) until the $25 is fully recovered.
Assessment and recovery activity is viewable in the CSE “Annual Service Fee History
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page. DCSS will mail an Annual Service Fee Assessment Notice (DCSS-0664) for each
case assessed with the service fee.

Annual Service Fee Exemption Process

DCSS-0678 form and additional information is located on the DCSS Public Website at,
http://www.childsup.ca.gov, under the Custodial Party tab: $25 Annual Service Fee link.
The form is also provided for LCSAs to print and mail to CPs. Go to California Child
Support Central, under CCSAS Help tab, in Document Form Mgmt.

Completed DCSS-0678 forms will be received and reviewed by DCSS Office of Payment
Management and Intergovernmental Services (OPMIS) staff. Approved exemptions will
be entered in the CSE ‘Annual Service Fee History’ page. CSE will show saved changes
in the ‘Annual Service Fee Detail’ page and record a comment to the CSE Activity Log.

The following are reasons a CP may qualify for an exemption from the $25 Annual
Service Fee:

e CPis currently or previously on state-only aid in California and CSE has no record
of the aid history.

e CPis currently or previously on federal aid in California and CSE has no record of
the aid history.

e CP was previously aided in another state — California has no record of another
state’s aid history.

e CP declares that the $25 Annual Service Fee was paid in another state for the
same FFY — California does not track other state’s service fee collections.

e Foreign Obligee with U.S. Address — such as Mexican Consulate.

e Interstate “split case” — The $25 Annual Service Fee is charged in California and
another state in the same FFY because case was not marked Interstate.

e Current or Former Tribal TANF cases — CSE only recognizes Tribal TANF as
Never Assisted.

Annual Service Fee Exemption Denial Process

Denied exemptions will be entered by OPMIS into the CSE activity log. The CP will be
sent a DCSS-0679 form completed by OPMIS, which explains the reason for denial and
includes the DCSS pubic website address, www.childsup.ca.gov, and telephone number
1-866-901-3212.
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Annual Service Fee Refund Process

If during the Annual Service Fee exemption process, it is determined by OPMIS that a
refund of the Annual Service Fee is due the CP, OPMIS will notify DCSS Accounting to
initiate a refund check to the CP via the State Controller’'s Office. DCSS Accounting will
indicate on the Annual Service Fee History page that a refund was initiated by checking
the box ‘refunded outside of CSE’. In addition comments will be recorded to the CSE
activity log.

LCSA Responsibilities

LCSAs are responsible for responding to telephone inquiries from CPs regarding the
Annual Service Fee and assessment.

OPMIS staff will contact LCSAs when the CP indicates on DCSS-0678 form that they are
currently or were previously aided and CSE has no record of aid history. LCSAs will
perform all necessary updates in CSE regarding interstate activity as well as case or aid
history.

There is no “hardship” exemption for the Annual Service Fee. However, LCSAs will follow
the standard course of action in responding to complaints regarding the assessment and
collection of the Annual Service Fee. LCSAs will provide information to CP regarding state
hearing/complaint resolution process.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact
Stacy Lauffenburger at (916) 464-5611.

Sincerely,

fos/

LINDA ADAMS
Chief Financial Officer
Department of Child Support Services
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