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CSSIN LETTER: 12-06 

ALL IV-D DIRECTORS 
ALL COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICERS 
ALL BOARDS OF SUPERVISORS 

SUBJECT: CHILD SUPPORT LEGISLATION 2011-2012 

The Governor signed legislation for the 2011-2012 session related to child support 
services.  The purpose of this letter is to provide you with a brief summary of these bills.  
Any required regulation or policy instructions will be provided in a separate letter. 

AB 1727 (Silva)  Chapter 77  Effective January 1, 2013 
In lieu of filing and serving a motion and a notice of motion, this bill allows an obligor to 
request ex parte relief to terminate a wage assignment order, if past due support and 
interest has been paid in full, and if any of the following conditions exist:  the spouse to 
whom spousal support is owed is remarried or deceased, the child for whom child 
support is owed is emancipated or deceased, there is no longer a current support order, 
a previous stay of wage assignment was improperly terminated, or there has been an 
inability to deliver payment to the obligee for a period of six months.   
 
AB 1751 (Pan)  Chapter 637  Effective January 1, 2013 
Informs county child welfare agencies and county probation departments that the 
California Parent Locator Service is an available tool for obtaining identity, employment, 
and locate information.  The bill also requires the Department of Social Services in 
collaboration with the Department of Child Support Services, to issue an All County 
Letter explaining that county child welfare agencies and probation departments are 
entitled to specific information contained in child and spousal support records.   

AB 2393 (Davis)  Chapter 646  Effective January 1, 2013 
Changes the California statewide uniform guideline for determining child support by 
increasing the threshold at which a low-income adjustment (LIA) may be applied to a 
child support obligation from $1000 of net disposable monthly income to $1500.  The 
LIA will be indexed to the California Consumer Price Index and adjusted annually.   
 

Reason for this Transmittal 

[X] State Law or Regulation Change 
[  ] Federal Law or Regulation        

Change 
[  ] Court Order or Settlement 

Change 
[  ] Clarification requested by 

One or More Counties 
[  ] Initiated by DCSS 



CSSIN Letter: 12-06 
November 30, 2012 
Page 2 
 
 

DCSS-LS-2012-LMR-0001 

 

The full text of these bills can be found at www.leginfo.ca.gov.  If you have any 
questions, please contact me at Karen.Echeverria@dcss.ca.gov or (916) 464-5481. 

Sincerely, 

/os/ 

 
KAREN ECHEVERRIA 
Interim Assistant Director  
Legislative and External Affairs 
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