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The Constitution of California (Art. I, sec. 3) and the Public Records Act (Government 
Code sec. 6250 et seq.) provide a right to access public information in government 
records. These guidelines provide guidance to members of the public on how to access 
public records of the California Department of Child Support Services (“DCSS or 
Department”). 
 
Requesting Information About Your Case 
Documents containing personal information about your case are confidential and are 
not public records.  If you have a child support case managed by a local child support 
agency and seek information or documents on your own personal account, please 
contact the office as follows.  You may send an email by logging into your personal 
Customer Connect account, you may call 1 (866) 901-3212 or you may make your 
request in person by visiting the local child support agency that manages your case. 
 
 
Submitting or Making Public Record Requests 
The primary recipient of public record requests within the Department is the Office of 
Legal Services. 
Written requests for inspection of public records or requests for copies of public records 
must be sent to the following mailing address: DCSS, Office of Legal Services, 
P.O. Box 419064, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741. 
Requests for public records should be specific, focused and detailed so records can be 
identified, located, and retrieved sufficiently. Oral requests for public records may be 
confirmed in writing to clarify understanding of the request and to create a tracking 
record for the request. 
 
 
Search and Production of Records 
Location or search of records will be conducted by appropriate divisions and units of 
the Department that are the holders of the requested records. If the search cannot be 
performed or completed immediately, the Department will notify the requester of the 
result of the search within 10 days of receipt of the request. Records for inspection or 
copies of public records will be produced upon request if the records are readily 
accessible and they are not subject to specific exemptions from disclosure under the 
law. Inspection of records will be allowed upon conditions determined by the 
Department. Normal operational functions will not be suspended to permit 
inspection of records. 
If portions of the requested records require redaction, the Department may take 
reasonable time to provide the redacted records. 
 
 
Responses to Public Record Requests 
The primary responsibility of responding to public record requests lies with the 
division of the Department that is the holder of the requested record. Determinations 
on producing records or denying disclosure of portions or entire records will be made 
by management personnel of the specific division involved. The Department may 
refuse to disclose any records or portions of records which are exempt from disclosure 
under the Public Records Act. Claiming of specific statutory exemptions for redaction 
of information or denying disclosure of records will be communicated to requesters 
through the Office of Legal Services, in writing. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.childsup.ca.gov/payments/customerconnect.aspx
http://www.childsup.ca.gov/home/lcsaoffices.aspx
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Charges for Copies 
The Department will charge fees for copies covering direct cost of duplication or a 
statutory fee, if applicable. Copying fees are ten cents ($0.10) per page for each black 
and white page copied on paper. Direct cost of producing a copy of a record on color 
copier or in an electronic format will be determined on a case-by-case basis depending 
on the nature of the record requested. Copies of records will be provided after the 
receipt of payment. Requesters may pay for records using a money order, check or cash. 
If payment is made by check, records may be withheld until after the check has cleared 
through the Department’s bank account. Requesters are responsible for arranging and 
paying for the pick-up or delivery of the copies. 
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